Shipyard Blues

My home was always warm and full of food.  We never wanted for anything because of the Shipyard.  My Dad worked there his whole life.  It was hard dirty work.  Nothing fun. 

There is a song that sticks with me to this day that he had a record of called “Shipyard Blues”

Goes like this:

“They got a shipbuilding firm out in old VA

The greatest in the world so I heard em say

Sittin in a town called Newport News.

And I’m one of many who report every day

Working like a dog tryin to earn my pay

I got them low down dirty, good for nothing

Shipyard Blues

 

Come every morning bout 7 o’clock

Mama sent me to that job that I got

And my boss man he sees that I’m there too.

And I think that he thinks that I’m a fool

For keeping this job the way I do

I got them low down dirty, good for nothing

Shipyard Blues.

 

Now here comes another one off on the way

She’ll be in dry-dock for 2 or 3 days

And I’ll be there sweatin and sing the blues

Workin all day in these dirty old clothes

Waitin til 4 when the whistle blows

I got them low down dirty, good for nothin Shipyard blues.

 

 

Now it ain’t like I don’t like to work

But it’s my pride that’s beginning to hurt

And I don’t whatever I will do.

A white collar worked  just passed me by

But he didn’t see me cuz his head was too high

I got them low down dirty, good for nothing

Shipyard Blues. 

2 Responses to “Shipyard Blues”

  1. Hi,

    I also remember this song quite fondly. My father worked in the shipyard & had a copy of the record too. I have been trying to find a copy of it somewhere. Any ideas?

  2. You may be interested in my blog on one particular shipyard, Henry Robb’s in Leith, its in the early stages, but will include the memories and experiences of some of those who worked there in future posts.

    http://henryrobb.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/henry-robbs-shipyard

Leave a Reply

