Songs that move you~

 As in, get you dancing, move you to tears, or stir your soul:  Here’s some of mine…I’d love to hear yours.

This post was originally titled top 10.  But I broke my own rule.

Pass the “O” by Yogoman Burning Band  (find them on myspace @ http://www.myspace.com/yogomanburningband

P-Funk by Parliament Funkadellic

A Change is gonna come by Sam Cooke

Beautfiul Day by U2

Boogie Woogie Country Girl by Big Joe Turner

Blue Monk by Thelonius Monk

Chet Bakers Unsung Swan Song by David Wilcox

Crosstown Traffic by Jimi Hendrix

 Donna non vidi mai by Puccini

Dos Gardenias by Buena Vista Social Club

Overjoyed by Stevie Wonder

Entre Nous by Rush

Three of a Perfect Pair by King Crimson

Gettin Jiggy Wit It by Will Smith

Maybe I’m Amazed by Paul McCartney

Hallelujah I just Love Her So by Ray Charles

Hard to Handle by Otis Redding

Honky Cat by Elton John

How Far am I from Cannan by the Soul Stirrers

I Wish by Stevie Wonder

I Will by The Beatles

Into The Mystic by Van Morrison

Izzo (H.O.V.A) by Jay-Z

Let’s Stay Together by Al Green

Sweet Potato by Cracker

Lost and Lookin’ by Sam Cooke

Make You Feel My Love by Bob Dylan

Me & Bobby McGee (Kristofferson) as sung by Janis Jolpin

My Old School by Steely Dan

Thunder Road by Springsteen

Promised Land as done by Elvis (shout out to Chuck Berry)

This is Us by Mark Knopfler

See The Same Way by Bruce Hornsby

Subterranean Homesick Blues by Bob Dylan

The Seeker by The Who

The Sweetest Gift by Sade

Redemption Song by Bob Marley

Will it go round in circles by Billy Preston

Lowdown by Boz Scaggs….there are more but we could be here forever!

4 Responses to “Songs that move you~”

  1. Great choices, but some, of course, I’m partial to 🙂

    Erik Greene
    Great-nephew of Sam Cooke
    http://www.ourunclesam.com

  2. Erik

    What a pleasure to get your comment!

    I love Sam Cooke and can’t wait to read your book. Will you be doing a book tour? We’d love to host you here in Bellingham WA. Let me know how I can help in that regard. Would love to meet you.

    The topic of Sam just came up last night at New Years as we were listening to my ipod mix. And I mentioned to my friend Damonte that Live at the Harlem Square Club was one of my all time favorite live albums, especially since he did not have that many live albums.

    What did you think of Peter Guralnick’s book, Dream Boogie?

    As for the post on Sam Cooke. He got 3 slots out of only about 39. And he really deserves his own list!

    Thanks, Erik. I think the quote at the beginning of your website is fantastic.

    Regards,

    David

  3. No, David thank you.

    I listened to Live at the Harlem Square Club this afternoon! I think it’s an important album because it shows a side of Sam most of the mainstream public never knew existed. In my book, I talk about how it took RCA 22 years to realize the album wasn’t garbage just because it wasn’t the squeaky-clean Sam Cooke, but one that spewed raw Soul.

    Bellingham, Washington? Never been, but I’d love to come. I’m certainly open to the possibility. Check out the 5th Annual Sam Cooke Fan Club Tribute posting on my website if you can make it to Memphis before I can make it to Washington. I’ll be there with bells on. There’ll be people from all over the world, but you may be the first to put Bellingham on the map!

    Overall, I was disappointed with “Dream Boogie,” and I state the main reasons why in my book. What I left out were the minor reasons, like misrepresenting the picture of “a very young Sam Cook” on page 8 or 9. It was actually a picture of my uncle L.C. It was corrected by the time the paperback edition came out, but if you can’t correctly identify the main subject in the first few pages, how are we supposed to believe the 750 pages of dirty laundry that follow? Peter Guralnick painted Sam in a very dark light which, in my estimation, served to justify his demise. Unforgivable.

    And you can add some other songs to the list: “At Last” by Etta James, “Johnny Was” by Bob Marley, “Bring it On Home to Me,” “Trouble Blues,” “Summertime,” and “Moonlight in Vermont” by Sam Cooke, “Jesus, Wash Away My Troubles,” “Any Day Now,” “Lord, Remember Me,” and “He’ll Make a Way” by The Soul Stirrers (I did good by limiting myself to four each!), and “I Don’t Know Anybody Else” and “Everybody, Everybody” by Black Box. That last two may not be classics, but they get me pumped up–probably like “Gettin Jiggy Wit It” does for you.

    Hope that helps,

    Erik

  4. Two apparently forgotten songs that I rediscovered this year that moved me (a lot) were After Laughter Comes Tears by Wendy Rene and The First Cut Is the Deepest by P. P. Arnold. I also listened a lot to Don’t Stop Me Talkin’ by Big Joe Williams.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

