Bad acting

dork.jpg

I am no Gene Shallit.  No Siskel, Ebert or Roepert.  But who told Ryan Gosling he could act?  Where did this guy come from?  He makes Russell Crowe look like Sir Lawrence Olivier. 

Did Hollywood need a slightly younger Matthew McConaughey because that’s the only reason I can come up with as to why this guy would win auditions.

I would not cast him in the local high school production of Bye Bye Birdie.  If a role is needed for an Eminem-type rapper or when Hollywood is just dying to make Justin Timberlake’s biopic–Ryan’s your man. 

My first mistake was putting The Notebook on my netflix queue.  Not sure who got my password and sent me this drivel, but that’s where I first developed my strong dislike for Mr. Gosling. 

Then again last night trying to watch what should have been a good movie: Fracture, with Sir Anothony Hopkins (who can make anything bad, better).  And there he was again!  WTF?

If they would keep him in roles playing 17 year olds that would be fine with me.  Then I could write off his lack of intonation and inflection as just adolescent surliness.  But they want me to believe he’s some hot-shot D.A. who’s been tapped for one of the most prestigious law firms in the country.  C’mon. 

He could have  had a starring role in any of the following and I would have stood up and cheered:  American Pie, American Pie 2, American Wedding, American Pie Presents: Band Camp, American Pie Presents: The Naked Mile  and the soon to be released to video: American Pie Presents: Beta House (2008) (V). 

How about American Pie Presents:  Ryan Gosling?

Leave a Reply

