60 years on…I need a break after 4

Next week we make the long trip back to upstate NY to celebrate my wife’s parent’s 60th wedding anniversary.  What an accomplishment.

 Add to that the fact that I think 9 of their 11 children will be there as well as their children’s children.  Whew, it’s a loud household.  But they are so much fun.  I am so lucky to call them my extended family.  I have always said when I married T I gained 10 brothers and sisters and another set of parents.  And of course my soul-mate.

We all say it, we all write it, but what does in take to make it sink in, family, friends and fun are all that matter in this world.  All the more reason why I don’t want to take work with me or have to be in constant contact with my office.

We have a staff, they are competent and all paid well, well enough that we should be able to leave for 4 business days and not have to hold hands.  They are generally very good and they work so hard to give us a breather.  They know when we need a break…THIS would be one of those times.  But we’re also down a person (see “You’re Fired”) so that means 3 people gone.  That’s tough.  Very tough.  But in the scheme of things, Thursday is a travel day as is Tuesday, so we’re really only need to be in touch Friday and Monday.  Not the end of the world.  But one needs a break, wouldn’t you agree?

 We work at a pretty high level.  More than a lot of people we know.  All the more reason for distance.  Time to put the mind at ease.  Frankly, I am looking forward to the TSA screening, airport lines, queues, hurry-up and wait, and the 6 hours of flights.  Just for the change of scene.

 I have bitched to a few who would listen, that we skipped our vacation this year, which is something I vowed (after I once did it for about 5 years) that we would never do that again.  It’s so vital to recharge.  I always come back energized.  I crave it.  I get to be a son-of-a-bitch without it.  And, where THIS work is concerned, anyway, I am not the happiest dude in the world.

Hopefully this is a post you skimmed.  More of a Friday brain dump to clear out the crowded spaces.  Thanks for listening, universe.

Leave a Reply

